Kiwifruit

New Poster
Hello once again SG community,

Last time I played orange I had some players asking me about what I do as a "dev" (notice the "dev" in my name) and that got me thinking, why am I a dev? Well as a developer I've been programming in C#, C++, Lua, Javascript, Java, and Skript. I've never done anything on a large scale before but I have tried and failed to start some small projects in those languages. Recently I've had the belief that I've learned enough about Unity and C# to start something on my own now, that's why I've been considering myself a dev for a while now.

During the match I brought up the game that I've been making, Leaflet. It's a game that I've been drafting up so far with choice based mechanics alongside story being first and foremost. Some story elements I had in mind were things like magic and the fact that the player is an endling human in a world inhabited by animals. I've been making characters while drafting story too, like a sea lion who is at your same learning level.

In orange, I was asked if I could give special items to someone when the game releases but I brought up that it's a singleplayer game. That made me think about an inventory system of sorts. I was also asked about the beta and that sparked my degrading interest once more as I work towards making the story and gameplay mechanics. I'm hoping to provide more information about it in the future when it's in a presentable state.

I am posting here as I'm asking the community about their thoughts on the concept so far and if I could improve anything. Consider this an open discussion I suppose, I'd love to hear feedback in any way so far. Looking for critique as well.

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this or if it wouldn't fit in the forum but I thought I'd ask about it as some players seem to be interested. Feel free to let me know if this isn't suitable or if I should post this somewhere else. I'd hate to pollute the community in some form.